Crater Criminal Justice Training Academy

Member and Contractual Agencies 

The Crater Criminal Justice Training Academy The Crater Criminal Justice Academy was established May 12, 1975 in accordance with Section 15.2-1747 of the Virginia Code.

The founding fathers firmly believed that high quality, cost effective law enforcement training must be available to Police and Sheriff's agencies regardless of personnel strength, agency size or jurisdictional resources.

To that end the representatives of the Original Nine Jurisdictions; Petersburg, Colonial Heights, Hopewell, Emporia, Prince George, Surry, Sussex, Dinwiddie and Greensville resolved to commit their respective jurisdictions to the creation and subsequent supervision of a Regional Law Enforcement Training Center.

The Academy has grown dramatically in size since its' inception. From the original twelve member Police and Sheriff's departments of 1975, we now serve nearly fifty separate and distinct Federal, State and Local Law Enforcement agencies.  

Crater's Agencies reflect a wide variety of sizes and types of agencies.  Included in our breakdown of agencies are: three Federal Agencies, eight State Agencies, three Colleges, two Military bases, and numerous Sheriff's Offices and Police Departments.
        Agency Affiliation with the Academy is broken up into two categories, Member Agencies, and Contractual Agencies.

*** If the name of the Agency is underlined, click on the name to view the Agency web-site*** 


Division of Capitol Police
Colonel Anthony S. Pike

Chairman, Academy Board of Directors

City of Hopewell Police Department
Chief Kamran Afzal

Vice Chairman, Academy Board of Directors

Amelia County Sheriff's Office 
Sheriff Ricky Walker

Charles City Sheriff's Office 
Sheriff Alan Jones Sr. 

Colonial Heights Sheriff’s Office
Sheriff Todd Wilson

Dinwiddie County Sheriff's Office
Sheriff D. T. "Duck" Adams
    Town of McKenney Police Department

Emporia Police Department
Colonel Ricky A. Pinksaw

Emporia Sheriff's Office
Sheriff Keith Prince

Greensville County Sheriff's Office
Sheriff William T. Jarratt Jr.

Hopewell City Sheriff's Office
Sheriff Steve Kephart   

Hopewell City Police Department
Chief Kamran Afzal

J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College Police Department 
Chief Paul D. Ronca

New Kent County Sheriff's Office
Sheriff J.J. "Joe" McLaughlin Jr.

City of Petersburg Bureau of Police
Colonel Travis Christian, Chief of Police

Powhatan County Sheriff's Office
Sheriff Bradford W. Nunnally 

Prince George County Police Department 
Chief Keith Early

Prince George County Sheriff's Office 
Sheriff Harold E. Allin

Richard Bland College Police Department
Chief Thomas Travis

Richmond International Airport Authority Police Department 
Currently Vacant, Director of Public Safety & Operations
Matthew Tenney, Interim Chief of Police

Southampton County Sheriff's Office
Sheriff Josh Wyche
  Town of Boykins Police Department 
   Town of Courtland Police Department 
Southside Regional Jail 
Colonel Mark Shifflett, Superintendent     

Surry County Sheriff's Office
Sheriff Carlos Turner

Sussex County Sheriff's Office
Sheriff E.L. Giles Sr.  
 Town of Wakefield Police Department
   Town of Waverly Police Department 

Virginia Division of Capitol Police
Colonel Steve Pike

Virginia Department of Corrections-Special Investigations Unit
Chief Paul Haymes

Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice-Law Enforcement
Director Valerie Boykin

Virginia Office of the State Inspector General
Michael Westfall, Acting State Inspector General

Virginia Lottery Law Enforcement

Chief Inspector Mark Trawitzki

Virginia State University Police Department 

Chief David Bragg

West Point Police Department

Chief Timothy Sawyer


CSX Railroad Police
Director John Walsh

Ft. Lee Provost Marshal's Office
Major David Martin-Provost Marshall
Major Joseph Metzger-Chief   

Nelson County Animal Control

U.S.Marshalls Fugitive Taskforce South East Recovery Unit

U.S.Probation and Parole

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles-Law Enforcement Services
Assistant Commissioner Joseph Hill-Director of Law Enforcement Services Services